Recorded

The fight on the ground – grassroots and local NGOs

Recorded
ABOUT THIS WEBINAR
ClientEarth Summit - Day 2, Global landscape, global players

Session 7: The fight on the ground – grassroots and local NGOs
10 November at 9:00am EST | 2:00pm GMT | 3:00pm CET | 4:00pm EET - Duration 1 hour


Grassroots groups and local NGOs work on the frontline for climate, nature and human rights. How can we learn from, and collaborate with, these organisations to evoke even greater global change?
The global climate movement can learn a great deal from those who work to mitigate the local challenges associated with climate change. Grassroots solutions address root causes of climate change including pollution, loss of resource rights, land conversion and fossil fuel extraction.

By engaging with grassroots groups and local NGOs, national and international organisations can help build a stronger, more participatory and inclusive environmental movement which also address social and economic justice. Through support and collaboration, they can implement powerful strategies informed by local custom and culture, mobilise people across borders, and spark comprehensive change.

During this session we will have speakers reflect on their existing work, and will discuss opportunities for impact and partnership, and also possible challenges to overcome. We will learn about the local effects of the climate crisis from the experiences and expertise of those working directly on the frontline

Speakers
Clement Akapame, founding partner of TaylorCrabbe and In-Country Associate in Ghana, ClientEarth
Ivaylo Hlebarov, Team Leader Air Quality Campaign, Za Zemiata
Fabian Huebner, Coal and Energy Policy Officer, Klima-Allianz Deutschland

Moderator
Beth Thoren, Deputy CEO, ClientEarth

View full summit programme: https://www.bigmarker.com/series/clientearth-summit/series_summit
ADDITIONAL INFO
  • When: London
  • Duration: 1 hour
  • Price: Free
  • Language: English
  • Who can attend? Anyone with the event link can attend
  • Dial-in available? (listen only): Not available.
FEATURED PRESENTERS
Also by ClientEarth