Recorded

China’s climate transition

Recorded
ABOUT THIS WEBINAR
ClientEarth Summit - Day 2, Global landscape, global players

Session 5: China’s climate transition
10 November at 9:00am GMT | 10:00am CET | 5:00pm CST - Duration 45 minutes


As one of the world's superpowers, China's commitment to net zero by 2060 demonstrates ambitious climate leadership. Could this accelerate the global transition to a carbon neutral future?
The announcement from China to reach net zero emissions pledge by 2060 has the potential to be transformational for global governance, and joins the EU’s commitment to net zero by 2050. As two of the world’s largest economies, together they set a strong example for other countries to follow suit and accelerate the global path to carbon neutrality.

But for these pledges to be meaningful, we need to see a dramatic shift away from 'business as usual’ in the short term. Ambitious policies and investments need to be rapidly mobilised towards achieving steep reductions in greenhouse gasses and the prioritising emissions offsetting through natural systems and technologies. Our speakers will shed light on the significance of these pledges in shifting the global environmental, economic and political landscape, and how the months and years ahead are of vital importance to transform these commitments into reality.

Presenter
Lauri Myllyvirta, Lead Analyst (首席分析师), Centre for Research on Energy and Clean Air
Ma Jun, Founding Director, Institute of Public & Environmental Affairs (IPE) (公众环境研究中心(IPE)创始人、主任)
Dimitri De Boer, Chief Representative (首席代表), ClientEarth China Office

View full summit programme: https://www.bigmarker.com/series/clientearth-summit/series_summit
ADDITIONAL INFO
  • When: London
  • Duration: 1 hour
  • Price: Free
  • Language: English
  • Who can attend? Anyone with the event link can attend
  • Dial-in available? (listen only): Not available.
FEATURED PRESENTERS
Also by ClientEarth