Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop
9-10 November 2021
What to expect?

"Science has explored the microcosmos and the macrocosmos; we have a good sense of the lay of the land. The great unexplored frontier is complexity." - Heinz Pagels

Anyone working in the life sciences is well aware of the scale and complexity of the data generated by their work. This has long been the case and a well covered topic in both of our previous workshops. In an increasingly digitised world, finding meaning in ever growing, disparate datasets is fast moving beyond the capacity of a single human mind. The challenge is exacerbated by an explosion of openly available information like scientific publications, annotations, ontologies and APIs that may have a direct bearing on particular areas of interest.

Our third Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop has been set up to showcase practical solutions to common problems as well as helping to incubate collaboration, innovation and good practice. Graph databases are powerful tools that are inherently capable of managing vast quantities of data points and the web of relationships between them. As people start turning to tools like Neo4j for answers there are inevitably more questions: data modeling, performance, resilience, interoperability. These are the kinds of questions we want to help you answer.

We will be publishing details of topics, speakers and timings soon, so sign up if you want to find out more. This will be a virtual event spread over two days and if you are not able to make the full day of talks, that’s okay! All talks will be sent out to registered attendees after the event.

Call for Presentations:
We are currently looking for additional presenters for this event. If you are interested, please let us know by filling in our CfP form!
Schedule (subject to change)
  • 09 November - 8am EST | 1pm GMT | 2pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - Opening
    Michael Hunger - Neo4j & Martin Preusse - Kaiser & Preusse
    1632481280-9bc65ef1a5e24728
  • 09 November - 8:30am EST | 1:30pm GMT | 2:30pm CET
    Graph data science and knowledge graphs for target discovery for cardiometabolic diseases
    Dr. Marie Lisandra Zepeda Mendoza - Novo Nordisk Research Center


    NNRCO is an innovative target discovery and translational research unit with a focus on identifying novel therapies for patients with cardiometabolic diseases. To identify novel drug targets, we employ a variety of advanced computational biology techniques on a myriad of data sources.
    1634809318-e48907f8921719c3
  • 09 November - 9:00am EST | 2:00pm GMT | 3:00pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - TBD
    1633697416-5c3b9cf928f47356
  • 09 November - 9:30am EST | 2:30pm GMT | 3:30pm CET
    Building complex Web Applications for Health Care using Neo4j
    1633939722-8e65bd18883fa132
  • 09 November - 10:00am EST | 3:00pm GMT | 4:00pm CET
    Pegasus: a knowledge graph to support drug discovery
    Jeremy Grignard - Servier

    The data produced in the pharmaceutical field of research are highly heterogeneous, experimentally obtained (omics, chemical, phenotypic), generated out of artificial intelligence models and correspond to expert knowledge. Those data can come from public, commercial, consortium collaborations or proprietary sources and suffer from lack of contextualization.
    1632490859-80860277b11d2bd3
  • 09 November - 10:30am EST | 3:30pm GMT | 4:30pm CET
    HealthECCO: Bringing the world’s health knowledge to research and medical decision makers
    1633698060-c99e6605534550bc
  • 09 November - 11:00am EST | 4:00pm GMT | 5:00pm CET
    Analyzing Perturbed Co-Expression Networks in Cancer Using a Graph Database
    1634808851-b386588d6291810e
  • 09 November - 11:30am EST | 4:30pm GMT | 5:30pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - TBD
    1633697593-3d35d8919816ba14
  • 10 November - 4am EST | 9am GMT | 10am CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - Opening Day 2
    Michael Hunger - Neo4j & Martin Preusse - Kaiser & Preusse
    1631703432-b4881b577e984542
  • 10 November - 4:30am EST | 9:30am GMT | 10:30am CET
    From Queries to Algorithms to Advanced ML: 3 Pharmaceutical Graph Use Cases
    Dr. Alexander Jarasch - German Centre of Diabetes Research
    1632490899-bc80676e0643d3d1
  • 10 November - 5:00am EST | 10:00am GMT | 11:00am CET
    Neo4j for Bacterial Genomes
    Sixing Huang - MGI
    Many insights are out there, Neo4j just makes them obvious. There are many public data for bioinformatic research. Most, if not all, are stored in relational databases. It can be hard to formulate "JOIN" queries to obtain insights from them in relational databases.
    1633348930-9c795fd900c27b97
  • 10 November - 5:30am EST | 10:30am GMT | 11:30am CET
    Modelling Multi Omics data in Neo4j to identify targets for strain development
    Dr. Peeyush Sahu - Clariant
    1633939145-2bf928f54b182335
  • 10 November - 6:00am EST | 11:00am GMT | 12:00pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - TBD
    1634810033-a989e763590aac7d
  • 10 November - 6:30am EST | 11:30am GMT | 12:30pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - TBD
    1633697885-928a8d212a047f88
  • 10 November - 7:00am EST | 12:00pm GMT | 1:00pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - TBD
    1633697910-2930da377ae35f94
  • 10 November - 7:30am EST | 12:30pm GMT | 1:30pm CET
    Neo4j Health Care & Life Sciences Workshop - Closing & Outlook
    Michael Hunger - Neo4j & Martin Preusse - Kaiser & Preusse
    1633697961-391351aad191079a
Don't miss out!
Ead-messages-offsite-icon-1