Daily Study Group: Introduction to Elementary Algebra
About This Study Group
Prepare for further mathematics and statistics courses by learning elementary algebra, also known as Algebra I. This Study Group follows the Wolfram U course Introduction to Elementary Algebra with lessons on how to solve linear equations, systems of linear equations, linear inequalities and quadratic equations, as well as how to perform polynomial operations.

Sessions include short lessons, poll questions to review key concepts, practice problems and exercises. A certificate of completion will be awarded to participants who attend online sessions and pass course quizzes. A Level 1 certification of proficiency in elementary algebra is available to those who pass the final exam.

Study Group sessions run daily, Monday through Friday, 3pm CT, a start time selected especially for students. This Study Group begins Monday, September 26, 2022, and runs for three weeks. There is no Study Group Monday, October 10.
This Study Group Has 14 Sections
  • Monday, September 26, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Variables and Expressions
    1659660130-94226052ab942f54
  • Tuesday, September 27, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Evaluating and Simplifying Expressions
    1659660160-47428dc592c60fee
  • Wednesday, September 28, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Introduction to Linear Equations
    1659660192-fd269a938b309a14
  • Thursday, September 29, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Two-Step and Multistep Equations
    1659660227-26451756698598ca
  • Friday, September 30, 2:30–4pm US CDT (7:30–9pm GMT)
    Word Problems and Week One Review
    1659660288-74761d04ea698653
  • Monday, October 3, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Systems of Linear Equations and the Graphing Method
    1659660297-dc48095eb36f3bcd
  • Tuesday, October 4, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    The Substitution Method and the Elimination Method
    1659660312-8c8d1f3a8c8673bb
  • Wednesday, October 5, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Word Problems for Linear Systems and Introduction to Inequalities
    1659660260-d534c036c3ad748a
  • Thursday, October 6, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Graphing and Solving Linear Inequalities
    1659660322-80f10cb93206d1bb
  • Friday, October 7, 2:30–4pm US CDT (7:30–9pm GMT)
    Solving Systems of Linear Inequalities by Graphing and Linear Optimization; Week Two Review
    1659660333-298ded8be3ddbbf5
  • Tuesday, October 11, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Introduction to Polynomials
    1659660353-fa8f9ad9266bdff9
  • Wednesday, October 12, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Multiplying, Dividing and Factoring Polynomials
    1659660356-d35c1d2689015a16
  • Thursday, October 13, 3–4pm US CDT (8–9pm GMT)
    Solving Quadratic Equations
    1659660369-17a9ca3f091c8bba
  • Friday, October 14, 2:30–4pm US CDT (7:30–9pm GMT)
    The Quadratic Formula and Word Problems; Final Review
    1659660426-f906ba5ee98f6b43
Ead-messages-offsite-icon-1