Engineering Insights Virtual Event
14-15 October 2020 | #CDEv2020
  • DAYS
  • HOURS
  • MIN
  • SEC
What is the Engineering Insights Virtual Event?
CDE is committed to solving challenges, educating and innovating the quarrying & wet processing industry, and alongside our valued partners we will continue the Engineering Insights education series with a free to register Event this October.

Across the two days, CDE experts, together with a host of guests and industry figures, will facilitate a series of dynamic, educational and informative presentations and panel discussions covering multiple sectors, including sand and aggregates, recycling, industrial sands, mining, environmental & waste management and the technology for the wash plants of tomorrow. The company believes this shared approach is a better way to aid the progression of the industry.

Self-select the sessions that interest you and network virtually with materials processing organisations and industry peers from across the world.

The full agenda will be released in phases, so register your interest today to be kept up to date with speaker and session announcements.
Agenda
    • DAY ONE
      • WEDNESDAY 14 OCTOBER
        View the agenda for Day 1 below.

        Times shown below for Europe (CET), Middle East (GST), Australia (AEST) & UK (BST)

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 05:00 (CET) | 07:00 (GST) | 14:00 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Keynote - Australia and New Zealand Construction Outlook: The Short and Long Term Impacts of Covid-19
        Adrian Hart, Associate Director – Construction and Infrastructure, BIS Oxford Economics
    • 05:30 (CET) | 07:30 (GST) | 14:30 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Why change from crushing to washing?
        CDE Regional Manager for Australasia, Daniel Webber will be joined by Jason Hartmann (CDE Business Development Manager) to discuss some of the benefits for quarry operators seeking to move from dry crushing to washing.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 06:15 (CET) | 08:15 (GST) | 15:15 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Through the looking glass of sustainable silica sand operations.
        Join CDE Head of Specialist Sands, Chris McKeown, and Regional Manager for Australasia, Daniel Webber as they present the sustainable solutions to silica sand production. Chris and Daniel will be joined by a panel of guests to discuss real world examples of silica sand projects in Australia.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 07:00 (CET) | 09:00 (GST) | 16:00 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Strength and (structural) integrity: an appraisal of end use markets for recycled construction, demolition & excavation material.
        This presentation will focus on the growing importance of recycled sand and aggregates materials, and look at the end use application opportunities for products produced from construction, demolition and excavation waste materials.

        This presentation will be facilitated by CDE's Head of C&D Waste Recycling, Eunan Kelly, who will be joined by several industry experts.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 07:45 (CET) | 09:45 (GST) | 16:45 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Mining; is bigger always better? Rethinking mineral supply chains.
        CDE's Mining experts Kate McCormick and Daniel Webber will demonstrate a new way of thinking when it comes to processing solutions for mine operators.

        More detail to follow...

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 08:30 (CET) | 10:30 (GST) | 17:30 (AEDT)
      • NETWORKING BREAK - 45 MINUTES
        Explore the many networking rooms and Expo areas in the virtual lobby of the Engineering Insights Virtual Event platform.
    • 08:15 (BST) | 09:15 (CET) | 11:15 (GST) | 18:15 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Keynote
        More detail to follow...
    • 09:00 (BST) | 10:00 (CET) | 12:00 (GST) | 19:00 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Water management: the economical, environmental & human considerations & challenges.
        Join a global panel of experts for a panel discussion on the water management challenges which face organisations in different parts of the world.

        Our panel will include experts from Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 09:45 (BST) | 10:45 (CET) | 12:45 (GST) | 19:45 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: Brains & Brawn: sustainable thinking for natural sand & aggregates processing.
        This live presentation will be hosted by CDE Regional Manager for Europe & Russia, Stefan Hunger, and CDE Regional Manager for Middle East & Africa, Ruchin Garg.

        The duo will be joined by some additional industry experts to discuss some real world examples of sustainable approaches to sand and aggregates extraction and processing.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 10:30 (BST) | 11:30 (CET) | 13:30 (GST) | 20:30 (AEDT)
      • Main Stage: The industrious Industrial Sands market: a look at demand, application and challenges in creating it.
        A panel of industry experts will join CDE's Head of Specialist Sands, Chris McKeown to the industrial sands market, looking at the areas for opportunity, and the challenges and processes to creating the required spec of industrial sands.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 11:15 (BST) | 12:15 (CET) | 14:15 (GST)
      • Main Stage: The Construction, Demolition & Excavation Waste Recycling Pioneers Panel.
        Join our live panel discussion as we host some of the leading minds on the conversation around construction, demolition and excavation waste recycling.

        Panel:

        Eunan Kelly, Head of C&D Waste Recycling at CDE, Scott Brewster, Managing Director at Brewster Bros Inc. and Stephen Boyle, Programme Manager at Zero Waste Scotland.
    • 12:00 (BST) | 13:00 (CET) | 15:00 (GST)
      • Main Stage: The Importance of Waste Management with a growing demand in the UK's Urban Landscape.
        The final live main stage session for day one will look at the importance of waste management in the United Kingdom.

        This session will be a panel discussion hosted by CDE's Kevin Mooney and Fergal Campbell. While the session will focus on examples from the UK; the findings can be considered for waste management projects across the globe.

        *** Additional sessions will be released soon. ***
    • 12:45 (BST) | 13:45 (CET) | 15:45 (GST)
      • DAY ONE CLOSE - NETWORKING & VIRTUAL MEETING OPPORTUNITIES
        The end of day one sessions but there is still ample opportunity to network in the virtual networking rooms and arrange meetings in the Expo area.

        Check out the day two agenda to learn what to expect in the final day of this event.
    • DAY TWO
      • THURSDAY 15 OCTOBER
        View the agenda for Day 2 below.

        Times shown below for USA (EST), UK (BST), Europe (CET) & Brazil (BRT)

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 09:00 (EST) | 14:00 (BST) | 15:00 (CET)
      • Main Stage: Keynote - Sustainability: Making Global Goals Your Business
        Marga Hoek, Global thought leader sustainable business and capital
    • 09:30 (EST) | 14:30 (BST) | 15:30 (CET)
      • Main Stage: Is there hidden value in your waste/ by-product stockpiles?
        The by-product stockpiles of many quarries is often seen as low value or sometimes a 'waste' material.

        Join CDE Regional Manager for UK & Ireland, David Kinloch, and a panel of industry experts to learn more about the opportunities available in developing valuable products from these stockpiles by using washing techniques.

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 10:15 (EST) | 15:15 (BST) | 16:15 (CET)
      • Main Stage: The disbelievers & policy makers: Who do we have to convince? A review of legislation for the use of Construction, Demolition & Excavation recycled material.
        Panel: Eunan Kelly, Head of C&D Waste Recycling at CDE, Adrian Convery, Business Development Manager at CDE, and Vincent Basuyau, Policy Officer - Energy Intensive Industries and Raw Materials at The European Commission.
    • 11:00 (EST) | 16:00 (BST) | 17:00 (CET)
      • Main Stage: Clean Gold: Empowering communities through eco-friendly artisanal mining practice.
        This live presentation will be hosted by CDE mining expert Kate McCormick. Kate will be joined by industry experts in the gold and alluvial gold mining industry to discuss sustainable mining techniques and the impact it can have on local communities by rehabilitating old mining sites.

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 11:45 (EST) | 16:45 (BST) | 17:45 (CET)
      • NETWORKING BREAK - 45 MINUTES
        Explore the many networking rooms and Expo areas in the virtual lobby of the Engineering Insights Virtual Event platform.
    • 12:30 (EST) | 13:30 (BRT) | 17:30 (BST)
      • Main Stage: Why we need to think about recycling construction, demolition and excavation waste in the same way we think about recycling bottles and cans.
        Panel: Eunan Kelly, Head of C&D Waste Recycling at CDE, Adrian Convery, Business Development Manager, CDE, William Turley, Executive Director, Construction & Demolition Recycling Association (CDRA), Robert Tassey, Facility Manager at Posillico Materials LLC and Lauren Asfour, Project Engineer at Posillico Materials LLC.
    • 13:15 (EST) | 14:15 (BRT) | 18:15 (BST)
      • Main Stage: Engineering Insights Future Lab: innovations to challenge the industry.
        This panel presentation will be hosted by CDE's Director of Engineering, Kevin Vallelly, who will lead a discussion on future innovations which could challenge traditions in the materials processing industry.

        Put your thoughts and questions to Kevin and the expert panel during this 45 minute session.

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 14:00 (EST) | 15:00 (BRT) | 19:00 (BST)
      • Main Stage: Unlocking the value in mine tailings. A more sustainable future.
        Mining tailings bring many challenges to mine operators, including health & safety risks, environmental concerns and operational challenges.

        This panel discussion will look at the technologies that can help address mine tailings and help pave the way for a world with zero tailings for mine operators.

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 14:45 (EST) | 15:45 (BRT) | 19:45 (BST)
      • Main Stage: Time to lose the screw.
        Traditional washing systems like the sand screw have served pit and quarry operators well for decades. This technology does present its challenges, and this session will look at new technologies such as cyclone technology that improve plant efficiency and performance, and will make you rethink your screw system.

        Join our expert washing panel including Darren Eastwood, James McShane and Tom Wick from the CDE USA team to get involved in the discussion on the latest sand washing technology.

        *** Additional session will be released soon. ***
    • 15:30 (EST) | 16:30 (BRT) | 20:00 (BST)
      • DAY TWO CLOSE - NETWORKING & VIRTUAL MEETING OPPORTUNITIES
        The conclusion of the inaugural Engineering Insights Virtual Event. Continue the discussion with your fellow event attendees in the many virtual networking rooms, or enjoy some virtual drinks in the Expo area.
Registration Closes on 12th October, 2020
Ead-messages-offsite-icon-1